Abgegrabbelt

It’s the time of the year where old things give space to new. Very often it’s not because the old are worn-out, tattered, shabby or damaged but with the new year, one tends to be attracted to shiny new things, whether it’s a

new gadget, new bag or new job. To make up for the guilty pleasures of shopping, I learnt some German adjectives from my friends last week that’ll be put into good use when I explain to my hubby about my recent purchases.

 

  • abgegrabbelt – worn out, shabby eg Der Sessel ist schoen abgegrabbelt ( the armchair is worn out)

  • ausgelatsch – very used, meine Schuhe sind ausgelatsch ( my shoes are very used)
  • alt – old eg meine Tasche ist schon so alt, deswegen habe ich eine neue gekauft (my bag is so old, that is why I bought a new one)
  • zerfleddert – tattered eg ihre Kleidung  war zerfleddert (her clothing was tattered)
  • altmodisch – outdated, out of fashion, eg der Stil ist so altmodisch, das zieht keinen Mensch (the style is so outdated that no one will wear it.)
About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

