German and English sayings for the cocktail hour

On 11 December 2011, a group of about 20 friends got together at our place for a Charity Christmas Party. My other half came up with this idea after we visited an orphanage, Precious Heritage, some weeks back inPhilippinesand he decided to organise a Charity Christmas Party to raise funds for the children’s home. The Christmas spread was on the house and the guest simply makes a donation towards the classroom building fund for Precious Heritage.

The concept of combining charitable work with festive joy and fun was of course well received by everyone. Old friends catching up before going separate for year-end holidays and building new friendships in an international circle while keeping the less fortunate in our thoughts made the evening wonderfully special. As the host, it is extraordinary rewarding seeing our friends from all walks of life, from every unique culture, come together for a common meaningful cause and leaving the event with new-found friendships.

Fascinating for me was of course learning new German vocabulary again. “Mir egal. Hauptsache es knallt” was the new phrase I picked up from a new German friend (eine Schwaebin) who just moved toSingapore. It means that I don’t give a damn as long as it gets me high. The word ‘knallen’ means ‘to pop’. Quite a nifty phrase and will be practical when we are travel toGermanyfor Christmas this year. I hope my mother-in-law will be proud of me when I use it. In fact I can’t wait.

Since alcohol can never be distanced from a jolly festive celebration, I dedicated some time yesterday to search for booze related sayings and here’re some of my favourites.

  • Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy – Benjamin Franklin
  • Don’t drink and drive, you might hit a bump and spill your drink.
  • Give me a woman who loves beer and I will conquer the world. -Kaiser Wilhelm
  • Alright brain, I don’t like you and you don’t like me, so just get me through this exam so I can go back to killing you slowly with beer. -Homer Simpson

Source: http://quotesnphrases.blogspot.com/2006/10/alcohol-sayings.html

  • Ein Leben ohne Wein, oh nein ( A life without wine, oh no!) –  on a board outside a wineery in Mosel, one ofGermany’s famous wine regions.
  • Einen Schluck Alkohol nehmen, um den Kater zu bekaempfen.  (A sip of alcohol to fight hangover)
  • Im Wein liegt die Wahrheit (in wine lies the truth)

Source: http://www.studentenkochbuch.net/kochzitate.htm

  • Lieber Pils-Bier als Shakespeare! (Better Pils-Bier than Shakespeare)
  • •Ich habe kein Problem mit Alkohol! Nur ohne! (I have no problem with alcohol. Only without)
  • Alkohol ist keine Antwort… aber man vergisst die Frage. (Alcohol ist no answer but one forgets the question.)

Prost! (Cheers!)

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

