German slangs abbreviated

Living in a world ruled by social media, we are unavoidably bombarded with short forms, acronyms (Abkuerzungen in German) daily. It’s sometimes just addictive typing lol, bff, ttyl and brb or your xoxo that has gained overnight stardom with Gossip Girls. Recently, I encountered my first acronyms in a conversation with some German friends. When my girlfriend peppered her lines with ADW, my eyes immediately lit. What was that? My brain was hungry to know the answer. To my question, my husband said, “You know these words. Jurong Island in Singapore is …”. “Arsch der Welt” was my immediate response. That is one of my favourite German phrases because you always get to use it when you’re in one of these ADW places. Am Arsch der Welt is used to describe a place that is in singlish “ulu” or in English, to live in a backwater. German acronyms exist of course! How can I forget? The dat.(dativ), akk.(akkusativ) and gen. (genitiv) that have tormented me for years in my numerous attempts to unriddle German grammar. Then you realized that the easy way out is to stop questioning the rules and simply accept them with VF (viel Freude – much pleasure). Never mind the rules. With German Abkuerzungen, sms-ing (simsen in German) will of course be a lot more finger clicking faster. This thought should’ve sunk in sooner and I wouldn’t have to spend so much formulating a German SMS. Anyway, after ransacking my textbooks, screening throught the Internet and gaining inputs from friends, I have now my Abkuerzungen list!

  • MFG: mit freundlichen Gruesse (best regards)
  • LG: liebe Gruesse (with love)
  • o.A: oder Aehnliches (or similar)
  • u.: und (and)
  • usw: und so weiter (etc.)
  • JWD: janz weit draussen (like ADW)
  • D&G: dumm und geil (dumb and horny)
  • EDEKA: ein dummer Esel kauft alles (a dumb donkey that buys everything)
  • H&M: Hasi und Mausi (rabbit and mouse)
  • KBM: keinen Bock mehr (no interest)
  • HDGDL: Hab dich ganz doll lieb
  • KITA: Kindertagestaette (preschool/day-care centre for toddlers)
  • bzw: beziehungsweise (in relation to)
  • od: oder (or)
  • WG: Wohngemeinschaft
  • O-Saft: Orangensaft (orange juice)
  • KO: kaputt (like knockout in boxing)
  • akla: alles klar? (is everything ok?)
  • bd: bis dann (till then)
  • biba: bis bald (cya soon)
  • gn8: gute Nacht (good nite)
  • gm: guten Morgen (good morning)
  • gdB: ganz dickes Bussi (super fat Kiss)
  • ild: ich liebe dich (i love you)
  • iO: in Ordung (in order)
  • guk: Gruess und Kuss (greetings and kisses)
  • kP: kein Problem (no problem)
  • kA: keine Ahnung (no clue)
  • omg: oh mein Gott (oh my God)
  • WE: Wochenende (weekend)

I’ve no doubt that this will be a never-ending list and if you have something quirky to add, just send me a msg.

Resources: Eva Decker, Christian Rahnsch, Kirsten Moench, http://handy.t-online.de/sms-abkuerzungen-was-lg-hdgdl-und-smileys-bedeuten/id_18584824/index, Langenscheidt Grosswoerterbuch Deutsch als Fremdsprache

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to German slangs abbreviated

  1. BW says:

    Oh, just found a treasure for me 😉 Thanks for the blog, and please keep posting! Ich kann viel von dir lernen!!!!
    LG aus BW.

Leave a Reply

