warming up starts with vorgluehen

Having lived in Singapore for more than one year, my dear friend from Aachen has long been localised. Even her favourite cocktail drink is Lychee Martini, a popular drink in Asia, especially in the Lion City. Bars that are generous serve this aperitif with two lychees and that’s exactly what eM bar did on Friday. eM is a new modern bar along the river at Robertson Quay, one of our favourite hang-outs that’s away from the city hustle and bustle. We met earlier to “vorgluehen“. Vorgluehen means warming up before a party. I was intrigued by the word when she mentioned it in her usual witty conversations – “Wir koennen erst mit Cocktails vorgluehen.” (We can warm up first with cocktails). Pre-party cocktails are simply social-life essentials  because they do in fact prep our spirits to an interesting evening. They warm us up so that I can rattle away in German more fluently. This is why this word liegt mir sehr an Herz (is close to my heart). Learning Koelsch (dialect from Cologne) also happens to liegt mir sehr an Herz although I haven’t made much progress since five years ago. This evening I decided to flip through my mini Koelsch dictionary for some inspirations. The small efforts did pay off and the first word that wants my company is “Freschsack” – cheeky person. The next phrase, “maach disch fott” has the same meaning of “abhauen” – to scoot off e.g. from work. Oh and here’s something that made my eyes lit up and my lips grinning. “Duetschland” – Deutschland – Germany.  The list goes on and my next task is to articulate the lyrics of “Superjeilezick” from Brings, a folk rock band from Cologne and I definitely need to vorgluehen mit Bier before I embark on this tongue-twisting challenge.

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

