Birthday greetings in German part 2

On my 32nd birthday two days ago, I was all over the moon just reading the birthday messages I received on my Facebook wall and mobile phone. The first series of postings were sent by friends in Singapore. Towards evening, the folks in Europe activated their facebook account or their handy and punched in the birthday wishes madly. The great news is, that I can continue my list of birthday greetings in german in today’s post.

  • Alles Liebe und Gute für das kommendee Jahr! Lass dich schön feiern! Drücke dich! – Love and goodness for the coming year! Have a wonderful celebration!
  • Ganz herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag! Ich hoffe, du hattest einen super guten Tag. – Happy birthday! I hope that you would have a super great day.
  • Ich wuensche Dir alles Gute und viel Gesundheit und schicke Dir ganz liebe Gruesse aus Deutschland! – I wish you all the best and great health and send you my warmest regards from Germany.
  • Hier noch ein (verspäteter?) Geburtstagsgruß von der anderen Seite der Erdkugel – Here’s another belated Birthday greeting from another side of the earth.
  • Alles liebe zum Geburtstag! Viele Geschenke und ganz viel Glück und Gesundheit im neuen Lebensjahr. Bussi. – Love on your birthday. Many presents, much luck and good health in the new year. xoxo.

Next year will be the year of the Schnapszahl. Schnapszahl is a double identical digit e.g. 33, 55, 66 and so on.

While researching on this topic, I read a beautiful poem written by blogger who has been living in Switzerland and Canada for many years, Jacqueline Grice, dedicated to her 97 grandma. It’s in both English and German. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

http://jacquelinegrice.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/beste-wuensche-zum-97-geburtstag/

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday greetings in German part 2

  1. So auch Dir wueschen ich natuerlich einen schoen 32 Geburtstag auch wenn ich zu spaet dran bin….Danke fuer Deinen schoenen Kommentar.
    Ja schon bald darf ich dann auch wieder mein Grosi besuchen…hatte nicht gedacht dass es noch einmal dazu kommt… Lucky for us both … Thanks again
    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

