Birthday greetings in German

Gammelfleisch means old or stale meat that’s not at all fresh anymore. Less than a compliment, this phrase is used on friends or those who turn 30 and older. Germans organise ‘Gammelfleischparty’ for this special group and usually for those who’re still single. Now that I’m 31, still  seven hours before I turn 32, I belong to this club, technically, not physically or mentally. Instead of ranting about getting older, I’ll embrace it and write a new post today – yep, my before I turn 32 post. Like they say in Sex in the City, the 30s are the new 20s. I’ll make this post a collection of common, friendly birthday greetings in german. Of course my husband doesn’t stop teasing me about becoming older and his gift was this phrase, ‘so alt wird kein Schwein’. That means no pig would be that old. 32 is not that old. Tsk. Tsk. Tsk. I stick to my friendly and harmless greetings here below:

  • alles Gute und Schöne zum Geburtstag: all the best and wonderful for your birthday
  • Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag: Happy birthday
  • Herzlichen Glückwunsch nachträglich: Happy belated birthday
  • Viel Erfolg und bleib gesund: Success and stay healthy

And here’s the ‘Happy birthday’ song in german.

Zum Geburtstag viel Glück, zum Geburtstag viel Glück. Zum Geburtstag, liebe/r (name of birthday girl or boy), zum Geburtstag viel Glück.

I may update this post when I get more lovely birthday wishes tomorrow. That is, if they’re sweet or cheeky.

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in German Phrases, German Slangs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

