Guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr…a good start or slide into the New Year

Guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr means literally a good slide into the New Year. New Year’s Eve in german is also Silvester. Before New Year comes, the Germans would never greet with ‘Happy New Year’. This, I realised it at a recent Silvester party. We had some german friends around and it was another night of discovering the interesting characteristics of the german culture. Most of the asian guests introduced themselves and wished one another ‘Happy New Year’ before the clock strikes 12. This was very new for our german friends and it has never occurred to me as well that we were always using ‘Happy New Year’ a tad too freely. Another phrase i learnt this evening was the phrase, ‘bei jemandem ein Stein in Brett haben’. This means that to be in one’s good books. I was given this compliment by a new german friend that I met at the party. This statement, ‘Du hast ein Stein im Brett bei mir.’ was one of the best compliments that I received this evening and I wrote that down immediately sodass ich es im Kopf habe. ‘Im Kopf haben’ means to keep that in head and it’s especially important for me since I am schusselig – scatterbrained. Anyway, I wish everyone a very good year ahead. Alles gute und liebe im neuen Jahr. Prosit 2011. Zum Wohl!

About germanforrunway

learning german is a love and hate learning journey. The beginning is difficult and it gets maybe tougher but definitely more lyrical as I discover the colloquial language or the slangs and in german 'Umgangssprache'. german for runways is a collection of slangs that I have learnt from the germans around me and my wonderful friend, Kirsten, is the mastermind behind the blogname. german for runways is the direct and awfully wrong translation for german for advanced level.
This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr…a good start or slide into the New Year

  1. Steve meyer says:

    Great blog. Danke

Leave a Reply

